Today I was configuring a D-Link DSL-2640T Wireless ADSL router for one of my clients. One of the problems over which I was confused was that I changed the configurations in the router configuration webpage and then clicked Apply. The problem came when I unplugged the power cable of the router and then plugged in again only to see the all the configurations that I had made were lost and the router configuration has been reset to it’s default configuration.
I searched for a solution of this problem and found out that D-Link has a hidden save configuration option. If we do not save the configuration and only keep clicking Apply on all the configuration pages, the configuration will run until the router loses power and then comes into life again.
To avoid this problem and save the configuration permanently follow the steps below:
- Open the web configuration of D-Link DSL-2640T Wireless ADSL router or any other D-Link router whose configuration is similar.
- From the top menu, select Tools.
- From the left hand menu, select System.
- Then Select Save And Restart.
This will save your configuration permanently and restart the router. Now you can test it by unplugging the power cable and then plugging it again. Now the configuration will not be lost.